Highlights from the Richmond upon Thames Borough Art Collection
For one week only, the stunning baroque Octagon Room at Orleans House Gallery is showcasing a choice selection of a dozen key riverscapes from the prestigious Richmond upon Thames Borough Art Collection. Visitors will be able to discover Richmond’s riverside riches in this chronological display.
For centuries royalty, aristocracy, artists, tourists, visitors and residents have been attracted to the natural beauty of the borough, the breathtaking view from Richmond Hill and the River Thames, which during the 18th and 19th centuries was a lively thoroughfare bustling with river craft.
Early 18th century works by Flemish artists Knyff and Tillemans, amongst the earliest landscape artists working in Britain, are hung alongside some of the finest topographical views of the later 18th and early 19th centuries by Scott, Marlow, Rowlandson and Howard. Vanished riverside properties captured for posterity include poet Alexander Pope’s Villa (demolished in 1807) and Orleans House (demolished in 1926). Internationally renowned 19th century French painter Corot is also represented, with one of only three views he created on his only visit to England in 1862, as well as a stunning watercolour by Swiss painter John James Chalon showing the annual census of the Thames’s swan population.
Richmond’s River is part of the Totally Thames celebrations taking place over the whole month of September. Totally Thames is a new season of arts, cultural and river events presented by the Thames Festival Trust throughout the 42-mile stretch of the Thames in London.
The exhibition also coincides with ‘London’s river marathon’ the Great River Race on Saturday 27 September.
Also on display will be panels outlining the forthcoming Transforming Orleans House development project and visitors can donate.
- Free admission
- The Octagon Room, Orleans House Gallery, Riverside, Twickenham, TW1 3DJ
- Gallery open Tuesday - Saturday 1.00-5.30pm, Sunday 2.00-5.30pm